Dr. Hyde Russell Named to Owen L. Coon Chair
of Cardiothoracic Surgery

Pictured L to R: Mark R. Neaman, President and CEO, NorthShore University HealthSystem; Elizabeth Coon Martin; Hyde M. Russell, MD; Owen L. Coon III; Mark S. Talamonti, MD, Chairman, Department of Surgery; Percy L. Berger, Sr., Chairman of the Board

The favorite part of his job, says NorthShore heart surgeon Hyde M. Russell, MD, is simply “taking care of people.” His father was a cardiologist, and Dr. Russell thought he might follow that path—however, while in medical school he decided to pursue the life of a heart surgeon with a special expertise in complex cases. That might be a child born with a congenital heart defect who has surgery and then comes to see him 10 to 20 years later to have a “correction.”

Dr. Russell, who joined NorthShore in 2015, is the Division Chief of Cardiovascular Surgery and Co-Director of the Cardiovascular Institute (CVI). Board-certified in congenital cardiac surgery and cardiothoracic surgery, Dr. Russell’s specialties included valve repair and replacement, complex surgical corrections in adult and pediatric congenital heart patients, coronary artery bypass surgery, and advanced heart failure procedures.

NorthShore recently named Dr. Russell to the Owen L. Coon Chair of Cardiothoracic Surgery, an endowed chair generously gifted by the Owen L. Coon Foundation. An endowed chair represents the highest level of prestige at academic medical institutions and ensures excellence in care, research and medical education.

“This is a terrific honor,” said Dr. Russell. “Well-known heart surgeons have previously been named to the Owen L. Coon Chair of Cardiothoracic Surgery. I intend to steward and respect this post, and make the donors proud. I had a chance to recently interact with members of the Coon family and show them what we’ll be doing with their generosity. Philanthropy allows us to do even more for our patients and sets us apart from other medical institutions.”

Prior to joining NorthShore, Dr. Russell held surgical positions at Northwestern University’s Department of Surgery in the Feinberg School of Medicine, the Department of Surgery at University of Chicago Hospitals and the Ann & Robert H. Lurie Children’s Hospital of Chicago.

The Owen L. Coon Foundation, established in 1946, supports chair holders in several medical leadership positions at NorthShore. The Foundation’s mission includes the support of medical education, research and healthcare services for vulnerable and at-risk people in the North Shore community.

“The Coon family is very impressed with Dr. Russell and his many amazing accomplishments to date,” said Owen L. “Trey” Coon III. “He inspires us as donors to endorse this program in perpetuity.”

“Dr. Russell and NorthShore is why we do what we do,” said Elizabeth Coon Martin, President of the Owen L. Coon Foundation. “We’re honored to have him for our chair.”


Quick Links    |    Make A Gift    |    Save the Date    |     Join Us    |    Contact Us    

Join the conversation       

Policies and Procedures | © 2021 NorthShore University HealthSystem. All Rights Reserved.

1033 University Place, Suite 450
Evanston, IL 60201